Leadership Cherokee Class of 2023

Photo ID: Front Row (l to r): Mark Smith, Cherokee County School District; Kristin Norton Green, City of Canton; Jenna Geary, Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce; Jenn Goddard, RE/MAX Town & Country; Sheila Keeffe, His Hands Church; Delease Chester, Canton Tire & Wheel; Rebekah Gibson, Soil Erosion and Education, LLC.; Heddy Proctor, Next Step Ministries, Inc.; Laura Gentilello, Woodstock West by Walton; Lynne Saunders, Encompass Ministries.

Second Row (l to r):  Courtney Argo, Goshen Valley Foundation; Chyretta Fullmore, Georgia Division of Family & Children Services; Marc Liscio, Cherokee County Fire & Emergency Services; Katy Leggett, City of Woodstock; Michelle Meek, The Children’s Haven, Inc.; Anna Teal, Teal Marketing, LLC; Barbara Corey, Wellstar; Kayla Cleveland, Cherokee County Office of the Solicitor-General; Casey Barton, City of Holly Springs; Chad Davis, Cherokee County Fire & Emergency Services.


CANTON, GA (September 15, 2023) – Leadership Cherokee, a program of the Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce, graduated its 34th Anniversary Class during a September 15th ceremony sponsored by Northside Hospital Cherokee.  With the completion of this year’s class, the Alumni count now totals over 700 graduates.

Members of the Leadership Cherokee Class of 2023 selected two of their peers to receive special annual recognitions. The Cristal Stancil Leadership Award honoree, Mark Smith with the Cherokee County School District, was selected by his classmates as the group’s outstanding leader.  The Bob Frongillo “Magic Spark Plug” Award was presented to Jenna Geary with the Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce based upon her classmates finding her to be the group’s best all-round member and having a high-spirited attitude. Outgoing 2023 Leadership Cherokee Chair, Dana Callan with Synovus, was commended by Incoming Chair, Jeffrey Pourchier, for her dedication to the Chamber’s sought-after leadership program.

The Leadership Cherokee program kicks-off annually with a Retreat where the group participates in both indoor and outdoor team building exercises that enable them to learn not only about each other, but themselves through a look at personality types and communication styles. Over the course of a nine-month period, Leadership Cherokee exposes the group of existing and emerging leaders to our diverse county as well as a broad range of topics such as economic development, infrastructure, government, justice, arts, education, recreation, tourism, public safety, healthcare, and social/human services.

The nomination period for the Leadership Cherokee Class of 2024 ends at midnight on October 1st. For information on the Leadership Cherokee Class of 2024 visit the Chamber’s website, CherokeeChamber.com, or contact the Chamber office at 770-345-0400.

The mission of the Cherokee County Chamber, a Georgia Certified Chamber of Commerce, is to promote business to expand the economy and enrich the community.

Photo ID: Mark Smith (l), Cherokee County School District, received the Cristal Stancil Leadership Award and Jenna Geary (r), Cherokee County Chamber of Commerce, was honored with the Bob Frongillo “Magic Spark Plug” Award.

Photo ID: Jeffrey Pourchier (l), Reinhardt University and 2024 Chair of Leadership Cherokee, thanks Dana Callan (r), Synovus, for her service as Chair of the 2023 Leadership Cherokee program.